Gingerbread houses, the allergy free way!!

It’s actually funer than it sounds. I was surprised that I had fun when i started too. It seemed like so much work making it from scratch….
Nah!!!!!!!!! Really trust me I have two, energetic kids. 
First buy the candy that your child can have. In our house were allergic to soy, nuts, peanuts, dairy, gluten, eggs, and we can’t eat gelatin. So we can have Skittles, Dots, Raisins, Mike and Ike and certain sprinkles. You can also use coconut flakes for snow and cereal too!

image

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees

Than you need to make the gingerbread;
2 1/2 cups of rice flour, more for dusting
2 cups gluten free flour
2 1/2 cups of sugar
1/2 cup of arrowroot or cornstarch
3 Tbsp ground ginger
2 Tbsp ground cinnamon
1 Tbsp xanthan
2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp nutmeg
2 cups coconut or olive oil
3/4 cup of applesauce or mashed banana
1/4 cup vanilla
1/3 cup cold water

Mix all your dry ingredients first than add the wet. Mix well.
image

Place in fridge for 30 minutes. While your waiting grab some tape and cardboard and get to work!
image

image

Snip, snip, tape your house up.

Okay now its dough time! Cook for 7 minutes, rotate pans, cook for 5-7 more minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes before moving or decorating.
There’s a TON here so dont feel obligated like I did to make all 40 cookies at once. You can put the dough in the fridge till the kids go to bed.
I cut my roof, and slabs for my home and than I made Santa, gingermen, angels, bears, horses, and tons of cookies.
image

image

I took a toothpick to the roof and made shingles.

Than for your allergy free frosting you need:
3 cups confectioners sugar
1/4 cup warm water
2 tbsp vanilla
image

Mix! If you want it thicker add more sugar as you mix till It’s just right!
This is your “glue” so to speak

Entertain the kids with cookies to decorate as you glue the house together. This takes some time.
image

Say what?! Oh yes gingerman it does! Hold on tight its a sticky ride!
image

And FYI it’s not going to be perfect so get OVER IT. Cause I had too. It’s homemade so its with love and the kids will have something to pick and munch on for at least a week.
image

Would I live in this house? Heck yes ma’am-sir-ee I would , why? Because I could eat my house and not get a stomach ache, just a heck of a sugar rush.

