Make your own organic pumpkin puree!

image

So we’ve had this pumpkin, locally grown for a while now. And today was the day I had to do something with it!
First I cut the stem out and pulled out some seeds for harvest. Since it came from my dads garden I thought it would be nice to grandfather it into our future garden!

image

See…hollow!!

image

See the seeds…

image

Wash them and dry them immediately! They can mold so fast!

image

Ahhhhh now I can relax they are drying!
Next take your pumpkin, preheat the oven to 350 degrees and let it bake for 1 1/2 hours.

image

See the knife cut right thru.
Blahhhhhh says the pumpkin……

image

I cut it, without touching it. Since its steaming hot.
Voila-aaaaaaaa

image

Then with a fork I skinned the seeds and strings as good as I could.

image

Than you plop small amounts into your food processor and process away.

image

Your going to have a bunch so I froze mine.

image

To thaw, just boil water and place container inside. Don’t submerge !

image

Than we made sacks for our seedlings!!
I’m waiting a full day to bag up the pumpkin seeds just to make sure they are completely dry.

image

